The Leo Pharma Research Foundation Award Winners 2010



The Leo Pharma Research winners for 2010 are:

Gold award: Jacob Pontoppidan Thyssen, Department of Dermato-Allergology, National Allergy Research Centre, Gentofte Hospital, University of Copenhagen, DK-2900 Hellerup, Denmark. E-mail: jacpth01@geh.regionh.dk

Jacob Pontoppidan Thyssen whose research provides conclusive evidence that the Danish initiative to regulate nickel exposure (started in 1990) has succeeded in decreasing the prevalence of nickel allergy in Danish Women.



Silver award: Andor Pivarcsi, Department of Medicine, Karolinska Institutet, SE-171 77 Stockholm, Sweden. E-mail: andor. pivarcsi@ki.se

Andor Pivarcsi, has been awarded for his discoveries of the role of microRNAs (miRNA) in the skin disease. miRNA are a class of recently discovered small RNA molecules that have been shown to be critically involved in controlling how genes behave. His research is expected to contribute significantly to our understanding of the pathological mechanisms in skin diseases such as psoriasis and cancer.

